Bowling: The Sport that Anime Forgot

I have been wanting to get into a sports anime for a while now, with Haikyuu!! season 3 airing this season, having watched The Prince of Tennis on Toonami when I was younger, and seeing a new sport get an animated adaptation nearly every year. Even ice-skating got an anime this year (Yuri!!! On ICE)! I haven’t seen it yet, but I have read 100 Word Anime‘s reviews of it, and it seems like something worth watching. However, I wanted to use this post not to talk about my favorite sport that hasn’t yet gotten an anime adaptation: Bowling.

Bowling is one of the few sports (that are prominent in Japan) that has yet to get an anime adaptation. And I am not talking about short scenes, or even episodes dedicated to bowling, but an actual full-length series. Though I don’t mean to discredit any shows that feature bowling in a scene or episode, because there are plenty of good ones that should not be missed. Take Death Parade‘s third episode, where the two contestants bowl against each other. I felt that this episode was beautifully animated, and something future bowling anime creators should definitely look at for reference.

death-parade-bowling

The only reason I can imagine for why there isn’t yet a bowling anime, is because there is hardly any source material to base one off of. While researching, I came across only one manga about bowling called Bowling King. Though, I don’t think that will be made into an anime anytime soon. However, you don’t need source material to make an anime. Recent shows like 91 Days and the sports anime airing right now Yuri!!! On ICE both don’t have prior source material, meaning that it is most definitely possible.

I think that for Japan to have Cosplay Bowling, anime bowling should certainly not be far behind. I am a little biased in thinking so, though, since bowling is my favorite sport, and just last week I went bowling in Japan for the first time!

oremonogatari-bowling

I would be ecstatic if there were to be a bowling anime made sometime soon. I think it is one of the many sports to be left out of the loop, but does not deserve to be. Do you have any other sports that you think should be made into an anime, but hasn’t been yet? Let me know! Also, do you have any good sports anime recommendations? Tell me down below!

6 thoughts on “Bowling: The Sport that Anime Forgot

  1. I’ve got to be honest here, I’m not a huge fan of bowling, so I wouldn’t have interest in seeing it animated. However, one sport that I have been dying to see intertwined with anime is dodgeball! With some quick research, I’ve found that only one actual series, Honoo no Toukyuuji: Dodge Danpei, was revolved around the sport, but it never did very well and it is extremely old. For reference, I think back immediately to a dodgeball scene in Hunter X Hunter 2011, and that is what originally sparked my interest. Basically, no for bowling but yes for dodgeball anime!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I don’t blame you. I think I only like bowling because it goes back to when I was a little kid, watching my dad play in his league. Plus I took a bowling class when I was in high school, so I suppose I am pretty biased.

      Oh man, yeah dodgeball would be super awesome! While it may not be anime, I remember watching the “Ned’s Declassified: School Survival Guide” dodgeball scene when I was younger. I’ve got to agree with you, a newer dodgeball anime would be super awesome.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bowling does seem to pop up in anime pretty regularly, but we’re still holding our breaths for a series about bowling.
    Should a bowling anime happen, would you rather them spend time talking about bowling rules at length (so newbies get the chance to not be clueless) or would you rather the show jump straight into bowling scenes?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good question. Hmm… I honestly couldn’t tell you. I think to make it more accessible, and probably more successful, they would have to spend a little bit of time talking about the rules. Or at least talk about the rules little by little in each episode as the series goes on.

      Good question though. I really hadn’t given it much thought. What do you think?

      Like

Leave a Reply

