Daily Lives of High School Boys Review

Plot: Tadakuni, Hidenori, Yoshitake and friends show there is a lot of fun to be had being a high school boy. From dramatic riverbank scenes straight out of a cheesy romance novel, dealing with siblings, being in the student council, cross-dressing, LARPing, to even just a simple game of kick the can, nothing is off limits for these lovable and relatable high school hooligans.

dlohb-mitsuos-troubles
A problem I’m sure many high school boys can relate to.

Daily Lives of High School Boys (Danshi KouKousei no Nichijou in Japanese) is one of those shows that I just can’t help but love. This show is the perfect one for you to watch if you are just looking to relax to a super casual slice of life. So I will preface this off by letting you know not to expect some sort of super dramatic show with immense plot development.

Since this show is more of a series of silly short stories (about six, two-three minute segments per episode), it is hard to point out any episode in particular as being better than another. So I think a favorite segment is something more commonly had for this show. But the hard part is definitely choosing a favorite, since they are all just so amazing.

dlohb-kneed-in-the-face
Sometimes you gotta knee your best friend in the face, ya know?

However! I was somehow able to pick a favorite, and that is the two part segment  “High School Boys and Indoor Adventures.” The general synopsis is that Tadakuni, Hidenori and Yoshitake are bored, so they decide to role-play a “Dragon Quest” style video game. However, Hidenori and Yoshitake quickly change the scenes, and introduce themselves as a new character every other few seconds, making it hard for Tadakuni to keep up. This gag was pretty interesting, but the part got me to hysterics was the beginning of the second half of the segment, when a narrator introduces all of the characters with a little highlight-reel of sorts. The best part was that they used the same scene for each character’s introduction. My description hardly does this scene justice, so I suggest you watch it for yourself! 10/10 scene. Apparently other people agreed with me, since someone on YouTube seems to have done their own live-action parody of this particular scene

There is also a “bonus” segment that is usually at the end of every episode, called “High School Girls are Funky.” This brings the attention to the girls in the show, and follows their, very similar to the boys’, shenanigans. While these were usually my least favorite parts of every show, they were still very good and worth noting.

dlohb-high-school-girls-are-funky

The opening and ending songs also fit the show incredibly well, and I feel are truly a strong point. The OP is a silly, overly dramatic song that tries to seem serious, but the lyrics are quite contradictory. The ED sounds exactly like a silly song highschoolers would come up with for a talent show or cultural festival. It is just so cute and happy, that is guaranteed to brighten your day. The animation that goes with it is also spot on, only adding to the songs hilariousness.

If I had to think of a weak point for DLoHB, I would have to choose its animation/art style. It wasn’t anything that stood out as amazing. And it might even appear lazy at times, since non-essential characters were always drawn with shadows over their eyes, making it so eyes did not need to be drawn and animated. But even still, it isn’t something that necessarily bothered me. In my honest opinion, it made it kind of funny to see certain characters that way. So it seems they were able to turn laziness into a positive!

dlohb-hidenori
Hidenori, by far my favorite character.

All in all, this is one of the funniest shows I have seen in a long while. Definitely a show to watch that is guaranteed to brighten your day! If you like laughing (who doesn’t?), then I highly recommend. The only way to give this show an accurate rating would be to rate each segment individually, something I am too lazy to do. So, to give it a general rating I would give it a 8.5/10.

There is also an official live-action adaptation of Daily Lives of High School Boys, that I will be watching and reviewing in the somewhat near future, so be sure to stay tuned for that! Thanks for reading, and let me know what you thought, as well as some of your favorite scenes!

 

4 thoughts on “Daily Lives of High School Boys Review

  1. Yes, I remember that I laughed so hard the segments of this anime that my parents thought that I have lost my mind. But one I made them see one, they laughed even harder than I was :p. As for my favourite segment in this series would be “High School Boys and as we are”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

