Nanzan University Festival

So today(11/03/16) until Sunday(11/06/16) is my exchange university’s campus-wide festival. It is something that I have seen a lot in anime and such, so I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to go to one in person!

I didn’t stay too long, and I didn’t take many pictures, but it was a lot of fun regardless. There were a TON of people. For some reason this surprised me, though I should’ve expected it. Food stalls consisted of most of the attractions. There were infinite food stalls selling things like takoyaki (fried octopus balls), ramen, kara age (fried chicken) churros, “American potatoes” which were spiral french fry-like things on a stick (which is ironic because I have never seen anything like that in America), some sort of taco thing which is apparently a Nagoya delicacy, crepes and more! The smells of all the food filled my campus, making it hard to not buy anything.

I got some black pepper french fries and a chocolate drizzle churro!

There were also a couple stages set up, with varying performances. At first, there were two rock bands playing on each stage, but as I went to the main stage later there was an idol group performing. I stayed and watched the idol group perform for a little bit, and they weren’t half bad. I really enjoyed the performances from the rock bands, making me wish I had asked them the names of the songs they were playing.

If you ever have the chance to go to a high school or university festival in Japan, you should take it. It was a lot of fun, and had lots of yummy homemade food for cheap. Which is good if you are a stingy bum like me!

Tomorrow I’m headed to the Kansai area to go to Kobe, Osaka, Kyoto, and Nishinomiya. Nishinomiya in particular will be a lot of fun, because it is the city The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya takes place in. So look forward to some real-life comparison pictures in a few days. Also I will be posting a review of Love, Election and Chocolate Tuesday the 8th and my review of Nagisa Oshima’s The Man who Left his Will on Film the 15th, so please look forward to that!

3 thoughts on “Nanzan University Festival

  1. In school we never had anything like this but just this sunday gone missed out on a japanese festival which was a bummer but I’ve been to a similar event like this before was small still fun though. Did you end up going on your own?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

