Life Update: I am back to writing!

In case you missed it, I haven’t posted in a very long while! This has been for a multitude of reasons, so I am just going to jump right i and bring you all up to speed as to where the life of WeeaboOtaku has been over these many and long, post-less months.

For starters, my study abroad in Japan has unfortunately ended. So that was my initial excuse for not posting. I ended up getting seriously caught up in studying for final exams, writing a 5 page paper the day it was due, going on a last minute Tokyo trip with my girlfriend, saying tearful goodbyes to the friends I had made in Japan, packing my things to return to the US, and a lot of other time consuming activities.

After returning to North Carolina, in the US, I worked at my part-time job for a bit, just before school started. So I used the “I’m tired from work” excuse to not make blog posts then.

my stupid face
The face of someone “tired of working.”

About two weeks or so after my return, I had to move back into my dormitory at my university, and resume school for the Spring semester of my junior year. Now, this would’ve been where I resumed writing blog posts (and I promise I was close to starting a post), but then I became unexpectedly busy with school. My semester was initially really light in work, with only a history class bogging me down. But then, my former Japanese professor’s TA quit, leaving the spot open. He is infamous for being hard on TAs, but I’m a favorite student of his. So I swooped in and took that TA position. However, since it was after the add/drop deadline for classes, and the Japanese department can’t afford to pay TAs, this work was all volunteer. So, I became extra busy. Thus granting me yet another excuse to not write blog posts.

But I survived the semester! And it just ended about two weeks ago. Now you’d think my excuses would end there. But oh ho ho clearly you don’t know WeeaboOtaku, the excuse master! Once the semester ended, I had to move back home. Then, Raleigh, North Carolina’s yearly anime convention “Animazement” came around, and of course I just had to go. I will also be writing a short post/review of the con itself, in case anyone was considering going. Following the con, my family and I had to move. In fact, I only just moved into the new place about 3 days ago. And I didn’t even have my computer set up until earlier today.

And now here we are!

So, to make a long story short, I am back to writing! I will try to be as consistent with posts as I was before. And here is a little preview of what is to come:

I am going to finish my episode reviews of http://www.Working!! and give a full series review after.

I will write a short post about Animazement, and my past experiences with it as well.

I have a few new anime reviews up my sleeve. So look forward to my reviews of Grimgar of Fantasy and AshChivalry of a Failed Knight, and many others. I also plan on writing a post about what I plan to watch for the upcoming Summer anime season.

I also found a DVD box set on Amazon of Nagisa Oshima films, so I can hopefully reboot my old film review series. Which I absolutely loved writing, so I am super stoked about that.

For anyone interested in the Japanese language, I won my universities Japanese speech contest for the second year in a row, and came in 3rd place in North Carolina’s speech contest. So I may post my speech on here, as well as last year’s speech. I think it might be fun to read for any of you learning Japanese, or wanting to learn.

speech contest prize
My certificate for winning the speech contest. 

And there is just so much more to come, now that I have a bit more free time! So please look forward to more posts from yours truly!

6 thoughts on “Life Update: I am back to writing!

  1. Welcome back! It seems like you’ve been having a great time doing lots of other things and I’m also definitely looking forward to any future posts you may have (especially the speech if you get a chance to share it, I’d be interested to see what you had to say).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, that means a lot! I’ll definitely post my speech then. I’m also looking forward to going back and reading all of the posts I missed from other bloggers while I was gone.
      So if you get spammed with a bunch of notifications of me liking your older posts, don’t get mad!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, welcome back! Well it looks like you have had a lot of cool things happening to you. Studying in Japan, wow that really sounds incredibly awesome. Congratulations on winning the speech contest twice in a row at your university. That really is an awesome achievement. Looking forward to seeing your future posts, great to see you back again! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yeah things have been busy, to say the least. I really appreciate that! I was deathly afraid of public speaking when I first did it, so it felt good to not fail completely. Thanks, I am looking forward to your future posts, as well as going back and reading the ones I missed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

