Summer 2017 Anime: What I am Planning on Watching

So this upcoming anime season I’ll have a bit more free time than usual, so I’d like to spend it watching the new releases and writing posts about the shows that interest me.

This list is only for the shows that I am 100% going to at least watch the first episode of. I have other shows that I am considering watching, as sort of a back-up, if one of my guaranteed to watch shows turns out to be a bust. But for right now, I figured it made the most sense for me to feature the shows I was most excited about. Also, the descriptions and any other info I give about the anime are coming from livechart.me’s list of Summer 2017 anime. So you can check out more details of shows there.

Anyways, here we go to start my list!

Konbini Kareshi

konbini kareshi preview image

Plot: “…Each of the students goes there for different reasons: to eat ice cream after club activities at school, to get the latest issue of this week’s game magazine, to purchase ingredients for cooking, to meet friends, or to stock up on their favorite bread or chocolate drink. The convenience store becomes the place they can meet, relax, and make small memories.

Starting now, the reasons they will go to the convenience store will slowly begin to change.”

My thoughts: So despite the seemingly drab plot line, this is actually the show I am most excited for. To be honest, I’m not sure why. It doesn’t really fit in with my usual type of show. But I was instantly drawn in by the name and colors. When I was in Japan, the convenience stores were my life. And my favorite konbini  (convenience store) chain was Lawson. And from the looks of it, Lawson is where these “konbini kareshi” spend there time. So I feel like this anime is just one I have to watch, no matter what. It also looks to be a Shoujo anime, and I really haven’t watched one from start to finish. So it’ll be nice to finally do that.

Gamers!

Gamers! OP theme Aug 23
While this picture doesn’t really tell much about the anime, I chose it because the OP for the show comes out on my birthday! You can find this picture on the Gamers!  Twitter account.

Plot: “This is a story that revolves around certain students and one hobby. Amano Keita is our lonely protagonist who has a passion for gaming and is friends with Uehara Tasuku, who is secretly a fellow gamer and is someone who believes his life is perfect. We also have Karen Tendou, the club president of the video games club and Chiaki Hoshinomori, who constantly bickers with Keita. This is a story filled with a non-stop sequence of comedy scenes and misunderstandings. Our chaotic romantic comedy now begins!”

My thoughts: According to a comment I read on Reddit “any anime with an ‘!’ in the title is bound to be good!” That, in addition to the fact that this anime is related to video games are the two main reasons I have decided to watch it. While it seems generic to me, it is definitely one of most popular upcoming anime on livechart.me, so I’m sure it’ll be decent.

Hajimete no Gal

Hajimete no Gal cover image

Plot: “Spring. The “season of love” has arrived and it seems that finding himself a girlfriend was harder than Junichi believed. To break the status quo, Junichi’s friends have forced him into confessing to the gyaru, Yame Yukana. However, things do not go quite as he expected. A series of “firsts” begins!”

My thoughts: I’m pretty sure this is going to be an ecchi show. So I suppose that is a warning to those not looking for that kinda thing. But to be honest the premise is kinda interesting to me. I don’t see gyaru (gal, basically a Japanese fashion trend that includes tanned skin, dyed hair, excessive jewelry, etc. {I’m no fashion expert}) main characters in anime often, if at all. So I’m curious to see how she will be represented. This is also high up on the popularity list, so it is probably worth checking out.

Aho Girl

aho girl cover picture

Plot: “Yoshiko is a genuinely stupid girl (she can even manage to get all 0’s on multiple choice tests). She hangs out at school with her childhood friend, who she claims to like, and he has to put up with all her ridiculous behavior!”

My thoughts: I saw on livechart.me that each episode is 15 minutes. So they basically had me at “15-minute run time.” I am a sucker for shows with episodes shorter than the typical 24 minutes plus commercials. Aside from that, the premise just sounds silly, and something where I can get a few cheap laughs from.

Isekai Shokudou

isekai shokudou cover image

Plot: “On the first basement floor of a building at a corner of a shopping district near an office area, there is a shop. …Certainly, for the office workers, it is a familiar place with familiar dishes. However, for the Saturday customers or people from that world, it is nothing but cuisine never seen or heard before … an Alternate-World Restaurant.”

My thoughts: If you can get past livechart.me’s book of text that is the actual description of this show, it seems pretty interesting. I shortened it to something coherent that didn’t take up 3/4ths of this post. Anyways, I think the title translates to something like “otherworld cafeteria” or something like that. Anyways, I’m always down for some supernatural anime, especially if it involves a restaurant. But this is also probably the riskiest show I’m planning on watching, since I have no idea what to expect.

Ballroom e Youkoso

ballroom e youkoso example image

Plot: “Feckless high school student Tatara Fujita wants to be good at something – anything. Unfortunately, he’s about as average as a slouchy teen can be. The local bullies know this, and make it a habit to hit him up for cash, but all that changes when the debonair Kaname Sengoku sends them packing. Sengoku’s not the neighborhood watch, though. He’s a professional ballroom dancer. And once Tatara Fujita gets pulled into the world of the ballroom, his life will never be the same.”

My thoughts: “Ballroom Dancing: The Anime” is how I would describe this. But nevertheless, it caught my eye. I’ve always secretly wanted to be good at ballroom dancing, so I think it’d be kinda cool to watch a (hopefully) realistic approach to someone trying to get into the sport. And this would be one of my first few sports anime too, so that’s another reason I want to watch it. Though the neck length of some of the characters was really bothering me. I think I may get too distracted by that, and it may ruin my own viewing experience.

Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun

Keppeki danshi aoyama kun pv picture

Plot: “The handsome young soccer genius named Aoyama is a Japan representative. His play style is “cleanliness.” He doesn’t tackle and doesn’t head the ball. If he’s doing a throw-in, he’ll only do it if he’s wearing gloves.”

My thoughts: Another sports anime, which is unusual for me. But to be honest the added “clean-freak” comedic element to it should make it stand out. So I’m looking forward to that. I also enjoy watching soccer; so combine that with this show’s pretty animation and I think we’ve got a real winner right here.

Pikotarou no Lullaby Lu-llaby

piko taro lullaby lu-llaby

Plot: “Pikotarou will improvise the story of each three-minute episode using an illustration by the anime’s director Takashi Taniguchi. He will tell each story in the style of a fairy tale and voice every character, including himself.”

My thoughts: Okay. I think I saved the most ridiculous for last. You may be asking “who is Pikotarou?” Do you remember the unreasonably popular Japanese video “Pen-Pineapple-Apple-Pen” or PPAP for short? If so, then Pikotarou is the man behind it all, and he is the main feature in this anime. Every single thing about the anime’s premise interests me, despite how whacky it is. If each episode is really improvised, like the description from livechart.me says,  then that would be exciting, since I love improv comedy. And who knows? Maybe more improvised comedy anime could spawn from this silly idea. I also think the fact that Pikotarou voices every character is pretty hilarious, so I’m ready to see that in action. It’s three-minute run is also an attractive quality. To be honest, I don’t know why this ridiculously silly anime caught my attention so much, but it did. And now I have just got to watch it.

Honorable Mentions:

These are shows that don’t get their own preview, for whatever reason. But I will most likely still watch them, so I figured I’d just jot them down here for whoever is curious.

  • Musashino!
  • Dive!!
  • Action Heroine Cheer Fruits
  • Nanamaru Sanbatsu
  • Netsuzou TRap
  • The Reflection

That just about concludes my list. I may or may not add more as it gets closer to the season starting, since some shows may not have been announced yet. I’d also like to know what you guys will be watching, so please comment and let me know! Thanks for reading!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Summer 2017 Anime: What I am Planning on Watching

  1. I don’t know if I am going to be watching any new shows yet, because I still have quite a number of old shows that I haven’t finished yet 😊 But I might end up watching one or two of them anyway, haven’t decided on what yet though. This looks like an interesting list, hopefully the shows will be good and fun to watch 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you have quite a diverse list there. I’m not able to start anything until after my break so I’ve kind of put off looking at the Summer lists. I’ll figure it out once I get back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

