Hajimete no Gal Episode 1 Review

Plot: The start of Junichi Hashiba’s second year of high school isn’t a great one. He is still single, and to make things worse, surrounded by couples. He is also caught reading a dirty magazine by the Yukana Yame, the class gyaru (gal). To make matters worse, he is elected by his friends to ask her to be his girlfriend.

hajimete no gal sumo
Peer pressure personified.

As a quick warning, Hajimete no Gal is a bit ecchi, so keep that in mind if you are considering watching it.  Though it is worth mentioning there isn’t any nudity. Which I think is actually for the best, since things are censored very cleverly, and at times in various comedic ways. So I think the censorship actually adds to the comedic value of the show.

why am I still a virgin hajimete no gal

My take on this show is that it is like a 2017 gyaru version of B Gata H Kei (Yamada’s First Time). The overtly sexual themes and humor of Hajimete no Gal, as well as the whole “desire to lose my virginity” aspects of it instantly reminded me of B Gata H Kei, but that is not a bad thing. I really enjoyed the latter, so I’m just hoping this newer iteration will make me laugh just as much as the older one did.

breaking the fourth wall hajimete no gal

The whacky male character design in shows like these always throws me off. I’m not really a fan of the larger guy with the weird cowlick/widow’s peak thing. But that’s just a small point I suppose. The female characters are a bit overdone as well, I think. The loli with over-sized breasts comes to mind first. I’m not really a fan of characters like that. But again, I really shouldn’t be too upset since overly sexualized characters are sort of the shtick of the show.

scary gyaru
Though I am a fan of Yukana Yame’s design.

At the end of the episode, it seems Junichi’s forced confession actually managed to work up some emotion from Yukana, and she accepts! I’m always a fan of shows where the romance and dating starts early. So I’m pretty curious to see how things turn out in future episodes.

my glorious high school days have been ended here
Or have they just begun?

All raunchiness and virgin jokes aside, I actually enjoyed the first episode and am looking forward to more!

 

6 thoughts on “Hajimete no Gal Episode 1 Review

  1. I’ll admit it has been hard to find much of anyone, at least on Twitter, that has admitted to enjoying the show. A few for sure were about but most quickly bashed this show for various reasons such as how the guys acted and reacted to everything and of course the designs of literally any of the main girls in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah the guys acted like horny teenagers (though to be fair I knew a lot of people just like that when I was in high school), and the girls’ designs are a bit fan service-y, to say the least. But to be honest I actually enjoyed it for the comedy aspects alone. Though I’m sure the ecchi tropes will get old quickly. How did you feel about the first episode, if you’ve watched it yet?

      Also thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As a manga reader of this series they changed things up a little bit. Introduced some people who barely had or had no presence until a bit later into the series but nothing so aggravatingly breaking that made me rage as an “adaptation purist” so that is always a good thing.

        I enjoyed it quite a bit though and the monologues and ecchi daydreams were better than I thought they would have been going from manga to anime. Though I think it is easier to read the ecchi tropes since the chapters only come out like once a month if the translators are working rather than this being weekly releases.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ahh I see. That’s actually really insightful, hearing things like that from a manga reader. I’m glad they didn’t change too much around from manga to anime, since that can be a deal breaker if they do it poorly.
        I totally agree with the monologues and ecchi daydreams. I thought they were actually well done, especially since the daydreams were cleverly censured.

        Anyways, thanks for putting into perspective from a manga reader. It made me appreciate the episode a little bit more. Thanks a lot friend 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you enjoyed this one. It seems like you really are bingewatching a lot of shows, really cool to see. This was another great review. As I am not a big fan of comedies I will probably pass on this one, but I hope the series will continue to fun for you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’m trying to be more proactive with watching new shows this season, since this Summer all I am really doing is working. So I have lots of free time! I hope it continues to be fun for me too. Thank you for your kind words as always friend 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

