Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun Episode 4 Review

I think I am starting to notice a pattern here with the content of the episodes. It seems like for every 1 soccer episode, there is another completely non-soccer episode. Which is totally okay with me, since these non-soccer episodes are pretty great too!

narita kun keppeki danshi.JPG
Narita, the second keppeki danshi.

This episode features the closeted clean-freak Narita, and contrasts him directly to Aoyama. He thinks that being the closet clean-freak is smarter, allowing him to limit any human interaction altogether. In fact, most of his human interaction comes from an online MMORPG. His guild in this MMO is about to get a new member, who is oddly familiar.

Aoyamas in game character Aoi Sanmyaku.JPG
Aoyama as Aoi Sanmyaku is too darn cute.

Aoyama is discovered by Narita in their online game, but to Narita’s surprise, Aoi Sanmyaku is nothing like Aoyama. Easily embarrassed, quick to high-five others in celebration, and owner of a room that should be featured on an episode of Hoarders, it seems like Aoyama uses this game as an outlet to express how he might truly be if he were not a clean-freak. I particularly enjoyed this glimpse into internet Aoyama, as it offered a chance to see his cute side.

It also seems that the Summer 2017 anime season is the season of food. So far I’ve seen yummy looking food from Isekai Shokudou and Konbini Kareshi, but was not expecting to see it from Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun in this week’s episode. Narita and Aoyama team up to feed their class of hungry savages, and lots of tasty food is the result.

Despite Narita trying to hide his clean-freak behavior, Aoyama sees right through him. This bonding between the two keppeki danshi was truly a sight to see.

the two cleanfreaks become friends
Aoyama offering cleaning supplies is like offering someone your most prized possession.

While there was almost zero soccer, it seems as though each episode has to have at least one scene showing the slightest amount of soccer. In this episode that would be Aoyama’s in game character using his patented Aoyama soccer skills to one-hit-KO the monster.

Aoyama Iron Ball Shot

 

Not quite the sports anime I thought it was going to be, Aoyama-kun is much better of a comedy than I was expecting. So I’d say it is a fair trade. I’d have to recommend it to even people who dislike soccer or sports anime in general, as this is not your normal sports anime. So far it is a must-watch for fans of quirky MCs and overall good comedy.

5 thoughts on “Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun Episode 4 Review

  1. I’ve only watched the first episode of this so far, but I’m kind of interested even though I’m worried it will become repetitive. Looking forward to the next couple of episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was honestly worried about the same thing. But so far I’m really enjoying it.
      And yeah I actually just read your thoughts on the first episode, which were basically the same as mine at the time! Of course I’m a sucker for almost any comedy, but I think you’ll start to enjoy it more as it progresses. Episode 4 has been my favorite so far, so I’d say if you don’t enjoy it up to that point, it would be safe to drop it. Thanks for reading, as well as your thoughts 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Man, all these pictures of food are making me seriously hungry 😂 Your enthusiasm in these reviews for this show seriously shines through. Even as I mentioned before, I am not a huge fan of comedies, I might give this one a try sometime. Another great post ! 😀

    Like

    1. For real! It doesn’t help that I usually watch all of these shows late at night, when I am already super hungry again! I’m glad you think so, that honestly means a lot! So thank you so much for that! It is definitely one to avoid if you don’t like comedies, since it is the entire basis of the show. But I suppose if you are a germaphobe then maybe you can relate? Or if you are super passionate about soccer. But if not, I wouldn’t blame you for steering clear of this one! Thanks a lot as always for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

