Isekai Shokudou Episode 4 Review

Week 4 of the Summer 2017 anime season is here, and I think it is a fair time to make the “drop or not to drop” decisions for shows. Fortunately, Isekai Shokudou (as well as all of the other shows I am watching) is not a “drop” anime. I have honestly been so happy with Isekai Shokudou, if not simply for how truly relaxing and heartwarming each episode is.

This time around we get two very unique customers to Nekoya. One being a lizardman and the other an elf who is their fantasy world’s equivalent to a vegan.

Isekai Shokudou Planet Earthlike narration
The entire “lizardman” half of the episode was narrated like a nature documentary, which could only have been made better if Snoop Dogg had narrated it. 

The lizardmen have an interesting ceremony that goes into their acquisition of Nekoya’s food. Only the strongest in the tribe is allowed to visit Nekoya, and they only order omelette rice for themselves and three omelette rices to go to share with the entire tribe.

I take togo orders at work but this is ridiculous.JPG
I often take to-go orders at work, but never a to-go order from a lizardman!

The second half of the episode deals with a more unique situation. An elf stumbles upon Nekoya, though much to her dismay, all of the menu items are “human cooking” and contain meat or other animal products.

Isekai Shokudou vegan elves

This elf has been the most critical of the guests about the food as she doesn’t believe it is possible for a human to cook delicious food without meat.

Isekai Shokudou chef.JPG
I’m a picky eater, but I’d trust this chef’s choice any day.

Though she, just like all of the others, quickly falls in love with the cooking. The chef cooks her a completely vegan dish of tofu steak and rice. Which, to be honest, now has me craving some tofu.

Have I mentioned how much the background music goes with the mood and food of the show? I feel like I say it every week, but it needs to be said! I cannot get over how much the classical music adds to the emotions of the scenes.

This week’s menu items are Omelette Rice and Tofu Steak.

It seems like this season is definitely the season for foodies. And this is definitely the show of the season if you are looking for some delicious food. I didn’t think I’d like a food anime so much, but so far I am loving every minute of it!

One thought on “Isekai Shokudou Episode 4 Review

Leave a Reply

